Second OpinionsEndoscopy Staffing

Endoscopy Staffing

Do you think it is acceptable to not have an RN in the endoscopy suite while doing endoscopies with an anesthesia provider using propofol?

Started by: gregory Rendelman (Anesthesiologist/Nurse Anesthetist) at July 25, 2015 (6:15 am)

Comments and Responses

In NYS, are techs allowed to be in the procedure room without an RN? I thought they were not allowed to document, label specimens, inject anything (such as epi, normal saline or SPOT) or clips since its considered an implant. I work in a hospital setting and we have an RN and a tech in the room. My friend runs an outpt Endo Center (JCAHO accredited) which only uses an RN in the room, but the MD owners want to go to just a tech in the room. She is having a hard time finding what the rules and regs are for NYS in this matter. If anyone can help, I would appreciate it !! Thanks !!

Danielle G. (Other) at December 16, 2016 (2:16 pm)

There is always an RN in the room with the anesthetist. This is to provide assistance to the anesthesia provider,tech, surgeon and to be able to assess pt condition and chart as well as label. In our state only an RN can assess, not a tech.

Jeanette S. (OR Manager/Supervisor) at December 22, 2015 (3:58 pm)

I would refer to your state requirements; many states require a registered nurse for every invasive procedure in addition to the nurse providing moderate sedation. SGNA and AORN also recommend a circulator for every surgical or invasive procedure; take a look at the position statements.

Accrediting agencies may also require 'adequate staffing', including the physician performing the procedure not having involvement in the management of the sedation.

https://www.sgna.org/Portals/0/Education/PDF/Position-Statements/SGNA_Minimum_RN_Staffing.pdf

http://www.aorn.org/Clinical_Practice/Position_Statements/Position_Statements.aspx

Marie D. (Director, Surgical Services/Director of Nursing) at November 4, 2015 (2:04 pm)